DUI PENALTIES IN COBB COUNTY, GA
Being arrested for a crime, whether felony or misdemeanor, in the state of Georgia can be life changing, however being arrested for DUI can be especially so. If you incur a drunk driving charge, it could mean jail time, fines, a suspended license, and reinstatement fees and may have to attend classes in drug and alcohol abuse. You will also incur a criminal record that could limit employment opportunities and block you from obtaining necessary licensing and certifications.
The best way to fight any DUI charge is a proactive defense. Find yourself a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience handling DUI cases in Cobb County, GA.
STATE OF GEORGIA PENALTIES FOR DUI
Georgia state law is responsible for setting the DUI penalty maximums. The state has established the ceiling for penalties in Cobb County as well as all other Georgia counties. In Georgia, DUI penalties are increased with each incident of DUI conviction within ten years.
First-Time DUI Offenders, the Penalties are:
- Jail time of up to a year
- Fines ranging from $300 to $1000.
- Mandatory clinical assessment of drug and alcohol abuse
- Community service of 40 hours
- Up to one year Driver’s License suspension
Second DUI Arrest – a Misdemeanor
- County jail time and/or probation from 3 to 365 days
- Fines from $600 to $1000
- Community Service for 30 days
- The possibility of the installation of an ignition interlock device
- Evaluation for drug and alcohol addiction
- Suspended Driver’s License for up to three years
Third DUI Arrest, also a Misdemeanor
Jail time and/or probation up to one year
- Fines from $1000 to $5000
- 30 days of community service
- Clinical assessment for the abuse of alcohol or drugs
- Up to five years of Driver’s License suspension
- Installing an ignition interlock device may be mandatory.
Fourth DUI Arrest – a Felony
- Jail time in state prison of 1 to 5 years, which can be 5 years of probation less time served
- Fines of $5000
- 60 days of community service minimum
- Drug and alcohol dependency program of 17 weeks
- Attendance at a state-approved 20-hour Risk Reduction Program
- Driver’s License is revoked.
- There may be a mandatory ignition interlock device order
Georgia state law also requires anyone arrested with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08 or higher to be in police custody for 24 until they are free to go. This is a very important point that everyone driving in Georgia should be aware of and take seriously.
FURTHER PENALTIES AND AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES
Numerous circumstances exist that can affect your charges and add to the period of your suspended license.
- There were damages to persons or property because of your DUI.
- There was minor child present in the car when you were arrested.
- Your BAC tested at a minimum of .15.
- You did not agree to take a test, either blood, urine, or breath.
Your refusal will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license; however, it will not impact any other charges or penalties brought against you.
LAWYERS FOR the DEFENSE of DUI CHARGES IN MARIETTA
Once charged with DUI, it is imperative you act immediately. The police build their case against you beginning the instant you are stopped for DUI. Attorney DUI specialists at the Cobb County law firm of _________, have a well-earned reputation for analyzing the prosecutor’s case and finding a way to have drunk driving charges dropped. The quicker they can get started on your case, the more the results will favor you. Get in touch with our Marietta, GA law firm and schedule a consultation at no charge to you.
SIMILAR ARTICLES on the subject:
- DUI Conviction
- DUI Defense
- Will A Misdemeanor Charge Haunt Me Forever? - March 29, 2021
- 5 Things You Need to Know About Getting Divorced in Georgia - March 15, 2021
- Meet Roland Castellanos - March 13, 2021